INA F. Manage,

Indiana Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management

101 West Ohio Street Suite 1575 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Phone: 888-531-4589 Code: 19227

www.inafsm.net

INAFSM General Membership Annual Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 11:30 a.m.-12:00p.m. CDT

Annual INAFSM Conference 2018

Evansville, Indiana

ATTENDEES:

Lori Gates, Chair* Mark Walker, Vice Chair* Toni Cecil, Secretary* Karen Avery, Administrative* Mell Nevils, Treasurer* Kenny Hale, Past Chair Denise Aschleman, Floodplain Chair* Sarah Brichford, Stormwater Chair* Randy Sexton, North R.D.* Larry Aukerman, Central R.D.* April Ramoni, South R.D., Outreach* Anita Nance, IDNR/NFIP David Knipe, IDNR* Zach Martin, USGS Randy Braun, IDEM* Rodney Renkenberger, ASFPM* Mary Moran, DHS Jim Blazek, External Assoc. Dave Finley, INDOT Brian Brown, Awards* Kerry Daily, Legislative Candi Donaldson, Education Greg Lake, Dues Renewal Rodney Renkenberger, Floodplain Strategic Initiative Brian Stephens-Hotopp, Membership* Tonya Cottrell, 2021 ASFPM Conference*

Call to Order: Lori Gates, 11:30 a.m.

Introduction of INAFSM Board Members and Staff

Treasurer's Report: Presented by Mell Nevils and approved by unanimous vote.

Secretary's Report: Presented by Toni Cecil. The Minutes of the September 7, 2017 General Membership Annual Meeting were presented. A motion was made by Kenny Hale to accept the Minutes. A Second was made by Mark Walker. The Minutes were accepted by a unanimous vote.

Chair's Report: Lori Gates reported on the 2018 accomplishments and current initiatives of INAFSM. An accomplishments flyer was available on tables for all members.

- A new annual membership dues renewal time has been established. This was initiated by Greg Lake.
- A new Membership/Data Committee was established to better utilize data.

- Lori reported on INAFSM's involvement in opposition to House Bill 1096 and the Listening Session hosted by INAFSM.
- INAFSM participated in IDEM Advisory Groups for the Construction General Permit, and is currently participating in the IDEM Advisory Group for the MS4 General Permit.
- A committee was formed to work on Floodplain Strategic Initiatives.
- A searchable spreadsheet was developed with all past INAFSM Board motions, to the beginning of the organization.
- A Board organizational chart was developed and put on the website.
- The website has been updated overall.
- Lori reported on the recipients of the 2018 Greg Main Scholarships, Jenna Klinedinst from Purdue and Veronika Snyder from Purdue. She encouraged everyone to participate in the silent auction to raise funds for the 2019 Scholarships.

Floodplain Committee

- Began working with certified planners to offer Floodplain education
- Presented Floodplain educational track at LTAP conference
- The Chair recognized April Ramoni as a new CFM
- There are 10,000 CFMs, in Indiana 124 recognized

Stormwater Committee

- Development of Pollution Prevention Plan template, fact sheets, and shop posters
- Inspector's Group assistance with reaching out to contractors, builders and developers

ASFPM Conference and Foundation: updates and recognitions

- Lori noted that Siavash Beik received the Meritorious Lifetime Achievement Award in Floodplain Management at the 2018 ASFPM conference
- Lori noted that Rodney Renkenberger's research into FEMA PDM flood acquisition grants resulted in ASFPM being able to work with FEMA to combine all project hazards under one single priority. This resulted in flood related work no longer being at a competitive disadvantage to other hazards.
- ASFPM continues to lobby for the FEMA budget as a high priority.
- INAFSM will be providing assistance with the 2019 ASFPM National conference in Cleveland, Ohio.
- INAFSM is investigating the possibility of hosting a future ASFPM National Conference in Indianapolis.

2019 INAFSM Annual Conference will be held in Ft. Wayne, Indiana

Upcoming Board Activities and Goals

The By-laws need to be updated this year. After conference, a committee will be formed

Open discussion from Audience

No additional remarks

Election

2019 Election results will be announced later during the conference; elections close on Wednesday evening

Next Board Meeting: Friday, September 21 at Banning Engineering at 1 p.m.

Adjourned: 12:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Toni Cecil, INAFSM Secretary

Approved on _____